Qingdao is right on the water.. it is known for it’s seafood.  I mean, it’s known to me and people that are interested in food, for it’s seafood.. For a historian, or for a traveler, i am sure it’s known for lots of other things. For me, I know about the Tsingtao Beer, i know that it has some connection to Germany but, really, i know about the seafood.   There is a spectacular selection in the city and I am a seafood guy.. Big fan of Qingdao cuisine.

I love celery.. This dish was cold celery with sesame oil and these little shrimp.  really awesome. the quality of all the seafood in Qingdao is pretty awesome..

15748579686_7df1090f54_z.jpg

greens with garlic and clams or some sort of clammy guy.. such intense garlic.. i loved this dish.  i could happily eat this dish everyday.

15152866303_a1b9b334ed_z.jpg

I feel like this is the unofficial dish or maybe the official dish, i don’t know, of Qingdao.. I have had this dish at pretty much every meal.

15587477900_85fc7180c9_z.jpg

steamed shrimp with a vinegar dipping sauce.. When i first came to China, maybe 15 years ago, i was taken aback by how my hosts would eat shrimp with chop sticks.. removing the head and the expertly holding the shrimp in their chopsticks as they deshelled the shrimp with small bites..  I would just pick up the shrimp with my fingers, squeeze the tail, remove the head with my fingers and eat them with my hand.. i am proud to say, i can eat shrimp like my hosts now

you know,it’s the little things i am thankful for. i also ate one before taking the photo

15587475320_871ea4dc66_z.jpg

I had this dish in Rizhao City the last trip.. It is fried pork with lots of cumin and some pepper.. It is wrapped in that wheaty hard pancake.  Love the dish.

15748580346_34fac18437_z.jpg

Then came out these mushrooms with pork and some chili peppers..

15586866268_6c17b88ecc_z.jpg

In Beijing or Qingdao, the end of meal dumplings tend to be a lot more loose and less filled… So, its almost like eating a noodle.. These dumplings were shrimp, of course with some scallions.. But, it was a loose dumpling with a lot more skin than filling..

After this huge meal, everyone at the table had like 4 to 8 dumplings. Normally, i would eat an order of 6 dumplings for a meal.. but for some reason, it’s just not the filling.. Sure, i skipped dinner last night but, i didn’t feel overly stuffed, despite stuffing myself..

15152321304_5a5dd22db9_z.jpg

With every meal there is normally a soup as well.. You can see on the table, there is an egg drop type soup with clam in it.. It was a little under flavored by my standards but, there must be something to it.. As, i often find the soups to need salt or some additional umph.. But, it’s consistently like that, no matter the restaurant or the region, so, it must be done on purpose.. i added some vinegar and it was good.
15586449659_2df61fa12f_z.jpg

Noticed this puppy on the way out.. I asked about it.. the lady i was with, a new supplier said, well, this is good for older people but, maybe might make younger person sick.. I figured it was something to make a man more virile but, apparently, this is good for older people. so, i have something to look forward to.. Some hard alcohol with a buch of snakes and herbs and bark soaking in it.

15152317304_462f1d9f9a_z.jpg

