So now it was time for lunch. The Chinese are really on top of lunch. If it were up to me we would work through lunch. I love to eat, don’t get me wrong but, when it comes to business, i have no time for food. I am not up for a multi course affair. I brought power bars and can soldier through..But, the guys I have encountered are very regimented. Lunch is at 12 or 1230 and they start to complain and get cranky if you don’t stop working. You can certainly use this to your advantage if you are negotiating at this point. “Just give me the nickel and we can go to lunch” sort of thing.

So we are literally in the middle of nowhere. We have driven down these dirt roads through places that look like they have been hit by bombs. i am really not looking forward to eating lunch. It also scares me that we are in this rural area that has lots of farms. There are also these standing swamps where I see all these people fishing in. I am hoping that we are not eating what is being grown and fished here.. Everything is covered in this film of dust and grime.. even the vegetables.

We walk into this huge empty building and there is nothing indicating it’s a restaurant. We notice this shady sort of pile of dishes with this crude hose sticking out of a wall. I am shaking my head, as I am getting really scared. We go upstairs and sit in this empty room with a lazy susan. I have no idea we are in for.

You know, the usual.. More cold goose:

Image

Green Bean and Soy Beans:

This was delicious.

Image

Thin sliced raw cucumber marinated with raw garlic:

Image

This dish was super spicy and really delicious. some sort of fish steaks with tiny little shrimp. The whole time i am praying, please don’t let this be a “locally caught fish”

Image

Eggs with jalapeños and some sort of yellow sauce.. it was not a curry ,it could have been just an egg yolk sauce.. i have a cold so the subtle flavors get lost on me:

Image

Duck Soup.. A really rich and gelatinous broth. There is sliced radish in it. A wonderful soup.. It goes really well with the rice. The rice also goes really well with the sauce from the fish. And it all goes really well with the 2 22 ounces of beer i drank.. We were also having a spicy pepper eating contest with the peppers from the fish bowl. They were trying to get me to eat peppers as I have a cold. Drinking beer and eating hot peppers happens to be two of my very best talents, so I was in luck.

Image

Some “local” vegetable.. The red sauce is the natural run off from the greens.. served with garlic.. this was FANTASTIC! Though, everyone tells you, when going to China,do not eat vegetables like this.. I have stopped listening to the warning years ago. I am glad i did with this one.

Image

Big old bowl of Yangzhou fried rice: This went well with everything.. This will be my second serving of fried rice for the day.. We had a different version for dinner as well.

Image

I am happy i used the restroom after lunch. This is actually one of the better bathrooms i have encountered in the past couple of days. Having a standard toilet automatically puts it in the top of the pile. However, the urinal was not connected to anything. So, as i am standing in front of the urinal doing my biz.I hear the dripping sound.. The damn thing doesn’t connect to anything and it goes from the unrinal to the floor.. So, the entire floor is covered in urine. no drain, no sign, no nothing. I am not the first person to do this, it must have been going on for weeks. a bucket would have been an improvement.

Image

This is how the dishes are done.. So little dude squats down and uses this dirty hose with no soap and rinses the dishes with dirty water. I am assuming that bowl of red water was where our vegetables were also rinsed or soaked or whatever. The water we are not allowed to drink, or open our mouths when we shower or brush our teeth with. I don’t know how I did not get sick but, I don’t want to know. There is always a 2 hour time period where every slight motion in my stomach makes me really nervous. I am always kind of waiting to get sick but, so far, so good. i am knocking on this fake wood desk as we speak.

ImageImage

This is where your teddy bears come from:

