Image

We live in Brooklyn. The Borough of Brooklyn has 2.5 million people. It is the 5th largest city in the United States.  We are very fortunate to have this little plot of land.  The space is approximately 20 feet wide and 45 feet deep.  When we first moved in, the space was a mess out here. Completely overgrown, full of bugs and garbage. It was gross.

We completely gutted the backyard and replanted everything with the exception of that huge tree in the corner. But everything down to the hundreds of pounds of rocks I carried in 50 pound bags, has been brought in by us. It has been a labor of love and a lot of fun.  It’s so strange to be in your backyard planting flowers, digging up dirt one minute, walk out your front door and be in the middle of an urban scene moments later.

Our backyard is our little oasis from the city that surrounds us. It’s awesome.

Well, it’s May 1st and it’s all in the ground.. We skipped tomatoes this year because our backyard sucks for tomatoes. I can no longer sit and watch these guy grow to 8 feet tall and produce 3 tomatoes which the squirrels will then come by and eat the day before I pick them. I just can’t go through that anymore for I fear the ATF will be on the news walking me out of my house after finding my cache of squirrel killing weapons. So, we threw down some strawberries that had jumped out of the planters and gone into my raised bed naturally. Our backyard is great for peppers so we planted a ton of that, rainbow chard, garlic, onions, cauliflower, lettuce, and a shite load of herbs. The flowers we planted a few years ago are kicking but. Not to mention after moving our hydrangeas to another section of the back, they seem to be thriving.

Pretty lush for so early? You can see the hydrangeas along the back side fence after the raised beds. They were really struggling along the back fence. They have perhaps tripled in size after being moved. They had tiny to no flowers last year. We can already see the buds.

You can see right after the broom that big pile of green.. That is celery that did not die from the winter.. Those suckers are huge.. we have been eating celery and the leaves for a couple of weeks now.. Good for juicing too.

Of course, I can not forget about my Big Green Egg. It’s a smoker, a grill, and a wonderful little oven.
Image

Here is a close up of the hydrangeas : These are Alicia’s favorites, well, depending on the day. But, they are in the running fo sho.

Image

We had some Basil from seed in the pots. But, this is the third or second year with those wild lilies my mother grabbed from the woods. They have come back with gusto.. I love these flowers. Miss A, she is not the biggest fan..

Image

A lot of things survived the winter. I had this huge potted sage plant that I transferred to the ground. My dream is to have a huge sage bush. I don’t feel like going shopping today. No worries, let me go out back and just clip some sage from my huge bush. Pasta with butter and sage coming up. I planted it in the ground 2 weeks ago. It still looks a little distressed but, it aint dead.

Image

We planted a pallet garden: Here you can see lettuces and herbs growing up and down the pallet. a great way to utilize space.

Posted Image

Image

To the left of that are tons of peonies. These are exciting and also Alicia’s other favorite flowers.

Image

Still lots of work to do but, we have a wonderful start..

