Soft shell crab pasta :

Image

Still more from the weekend. We had such a great time.  About 40 minutes away from the house, there is a pretty cool gourmet supermarket. It’s pretty great, in fact, better than any supermarket I have in my area.  But for me, I am not a supermarket guy anyway. If I want fish, I go to one of my four fish suppliers, if I want meat I go to one of three butchers, if I want vegetables, I go to a farmers market when I can.  And it goes on like this.  I can tell the difference for sure. But that is city living, the choices are endless but, the space is limited. It’s rare for huge all encompassing things to exist. That is outside of Eataly.

So we headed to the supermarket and were able to pick up these 8 crabs. We flour them and cooked them in butter.. After that, we dropped some bucatinni in water.  We added some wine, capers, and lemon to the butter that fried the crabs up. Hit with some parsley and chile flakes.  It was a really wonderful dinner.

Fry in butter: These crabs, you can eat the entire body. They don’t take long to cook at all. It’s a simple and elegant dish.

Image

I had mentioned the pork share prior. Here is a 7 lb roast from the pig I bought half of. It’s a beautiful berkshire pig.

Image

I roasted it at 450 for a half hour and then cooked it at 250 for the remaining time. I didn’t really put a timer on it, i just felt the meat after some time. If I had to use a measurement, I would say it was about 2 vodka cocktails in length.

It was slightly more than medium. This pork is so delicious I prefer to serve it rare:  With the pork we served cauliflower that was roasted and a kale caesar salad.  In addition to that, I made this roasted grape sauce. I roasted grapes in the pan with the pork and then put it in the food processor with garlic and a little mustard. It was a delicious sauce but, the pork was so good, it didn’t need it.  Ahh what a dilemma.

Image

Kale Caesar:

Image

Here is what a berkshire pig looks like. The meat is just fantastic.

Image

