Image

Sorry, I have to start thinking more like a blogger.   I take photos of the prep just fine, it’s just when the food comes out, well, then it is go time. So it’s hard for me to stop and add an extra step. I am sure this will take some minor readjusting.

So, this weekend, included a Dinner with family Saturday, then a lunch on Sunday with family, followed by a dinner on Sunday with even more family.

The holidays have us running from one set, to the other set and all the activities that cousins and aunts have within each particular family. A lot to say the least.

 

Going to someone’s house for Passover meant, bringing nothing with bread.  So we opted to make tostone cups and filled them with a Salmon Spread. As I mentioned, the spread was adapted by myself from an Eric Ripert recipe.  Essentially I took 4 pounds of salmon. I skinned and diced the salmon into cubes, poached it for a minute in boiling wine then, ice bath, then let the cubes cool for about two hours in the fridge. Then, added a pound of flaked smoked salmon, a cup or so of homemade mayo, added a couple of handfuls of finely chopped chives and then squeezed in lemon juice to taste. Perhaps a cup or less.

Filled these suckers into tostone cups.

Image

Peeling these plantains are slightly difficult. You need to make slices running the length of the banana then peel off the out layer in trips. People say use the handle of a spoon to get it started in the slice.  I used my fingers for a catering job and had starchy and fibrous plantain peels under my finger nails.. It was so painful.  I know use a fish bone tweezer cause I had them out for the salmon:

Image

Sorry no shots of the finished product: I hope you are all familiar with a Pavlova cake.. It’s essentially a baked meringue topped with whipped cream and fresh fruit. We had purchased some really pretty fruit in Chinatown on Friday so this was a really nice addition.

 

Image

So that was part of the little cooking we did this week. One good thing about going to other people’s houses, they don’t want you to cook too much.

