I had to take my wife to work this morning. doing our daily routine: going over the Manhattan Bridge, driving across Canal st, through the Holland Tunnel, then along various numbered routes in N.J.

As we were pulling close to her office, we passed Union Pork Store.  Home to Jabi, the famous butcher.  The guy is so talented and such a nice guy.  I wanted my wife to meet him and his wife as well as see their shop.  Here is a link to his store.. He has well over a hundred sausages. http://www.unionporkstore.com/

Well I am glad I brought her because she spotted a 12 pound rib roast and suggested we buy it.  We were going to make a quick pastrami.(smoking a corned beef) to bring to someone’s house but, this will certainly do.

Image

Pretty looking roast. this will with a large amount of garlic and some herbs rub into it.

This thing is huge. 12 pounds.

Jabi handed us some jalapeño stuffed chicken sausages

Image

Breakfast Sausages for this morning:

Image

Jabi smokes his own fish as well. Trout, eel, salmon and a few other things.  We will mix the smoke pieces of shredded salmon into cubes of salmon, that w elightly poached in wine and herbs. Add some chives and a little homemade mayo.  It’s a nice dip.  My friend taught me this recipe when i was doing a charity event with her. She had read it from Eric Ripert.

Image

New Hai Cang Seafood

77 Mott St

I like this place. It’s easy to get to. It’s on the more southern end of Mott so, it’s not very crowded. My only issue is, when it gets warm, there are flies and I am not that hardcore.  I visit them in Winter and Fall.

Image

545 a pound

Image

