Yun Nan Garden
3934 Schiff Dr

(702) 869-8885

Tonight I took out a really important customer of mine. I have eaten with him all over China and all over Las Vegas.  When we first met, we initially bonded over our love for food. My friend is 5.’10 167 pounds however, he eats more than any human being I have ever met. He is the type of guy who orders an extra dish or  two after everyone has stopped eating.  I have ordered tasting menus with him and he has ordered an extra salad or plate of food while most people at the table are working on coffee, dessert, or after dinner drinks.  The man is a machine.

I was given the task of finding a place to eat tonight. My first choice in Vegas is Raku. However, the last time we hung out in Vegas, we went there. He wanted me to find a new place. Challenge accepted. Enter Yunan Garden.

It’s located close to Pho So 1 in Chinatown though, more off the beaten path.

All I have to say is Wow. This is probably the best Sichuan Restaurant I have ever been to. In China, In New York, in Hong Kong, this place is truly exceptional. The food here is absolutely spectacular. I went with three people tonight and we ate like Kings. I was so shocked and caught off guard, I am still surprised.

Posted Image

We ordered a bunch of food and each dish was a winner. i can’t clearly say there was one thing I liked better than the next. We were the only Non Chinese in the restaurant.

up in the front of the restaurant there is buffet style type set up where there are large cold dishes that you can order from. There were intestines, goose heads, goose and chicken feet, lots of weird parts. One of the people I was with is not a big fan of cold dishes and wanted to go more for the hot items. I did talk them into getting the spicy peanuts and dried fish though.

Posted Image

Posted Image

Heads:

Posted Image

Peanuts and sweet dried fish:

Posted Image

Sichuan Dumplings sitting in spicy sauce: Soft dumplings with pork. House made skins were super delicate but, yet held together. There was hints of sesame oil. Delicious:

Posted Image

Spicy cumin lamb with green bell pepper, jalapeño, scallion, sichuan and red chiles.The lamb was sliced in strips and covered with cumin, then wok tossed with these peppers. Holy cow, if I just ate this dish I would have been so happy with the dinner. The lamb was so tasty, the best cumin lamb I have had.

Posted Image

Sliced fried fish tossed with chile peppers: Unbelievable.
Posted Image

A large bowl of rice:

Posted Image

Fried spareribs. Here the ribs still had a little bone. The ribs were fried and got to the temperature where all the sinew and fat liquified. There was a little bone that easily disconnected from the meat with a some little mouth work. Again tossed with peppers. It was amazing how many of the dishes appeared to have the same preparation but, were so uniquely different.

Posted Image

Eggplant. It was served piping hot, the eggplant was super melty. The sugars came out of the eggplant and it was just so wonderful. One of the better eggplants dishes I have had in a long time. It was just so expertly prepared. I love eggplant but there is such a margin of error for me that often times I am left very disappointed. This was perfection.

Posted Image

You have to have some greens:

Posted Image

I am almost embarrassed to admit how much the three of us ate. There were two dumplings, a little eggplant and then just plates of dried chile peppers left over. I wish i lived closer to this place, i would probably go here once a week. Service was so nice, prices were very reasonable. I can’t wait to go back and try the numerous dishes that we had to pass on. I have eaten with these people all over China and we have unanimously decided this was among the best places we have eaten.

Posted Image

