Ayada Thai (Woodside)

78-03 Woodside Ave. (Woodside Ave & 78th St)
(718) 424-0844

It has almost been two years since I have last been here.

Last night while returning from the Berkshires, Miss A and I were switching drivers on the side of the road. Miss A is studying for her drivers test and she has been under my tutelage. Let me just say to all my fellow drivers out there, you are welcome. Thanks to me, there will soon by another super driver on the road. Right now we are learning the basics but, shoulder of the road driving, the art of the rolling stop, look both ways before you blow the red light, lessons will all be passed along in time.

So, as we were switching drivers we noticed how close we were to Elmhurst. At first we were on our way to my favorite Taste Good but, Miss A is starting a Juice Cleanse this week and last night was her last meal for a good 8 days.

We ordered all our food super spicy and they did not disappoint. This is one of the more spicy meals I have had in recent memory. Sticky rice and A Thai Ice Tea saved my life. We ate two sticky rices which really helped.

Posted Image

We started with the raw shrimp and the Thai Sausage.

Raw shrimp marinated in many things including lime juice and garlic. I love bitter melon and this is a great addition texture and taste wise. A little raw garlic to keep away the vampires.

 

Posted Image

Garlicky and slightly sour sausage served with lettuce to wrap, a slice of ginger, roasted peanuts and Thai Peppers. It’s a great combination. I have had other dishes where lime skins and coconut were also added to wraps. And instead of a regular lettuce they were using broccoli leaves, I believe. But, this was really nice.

Posted Image

Next up was the pork laab, or larb. This was really lovely. The thing I love best about this dish is the amount of toasted rice. It not only adds a really unique textural component but, a very nice toasted sort of nutty taste. This is a winner for sure.

Posted Image

At this point our mouths were pretty much engulfed in flames. Feeling really good but, on fire just the same. We ordered a cat fish dish. This was really lovely as well. Catfish and eggplant spicy yellowish curry. There was lots of coconut milk and I would guess something that was flammable or on fire. It was delicious. You know it’s a spicy dish when you welcome the cooling affects of a jalapeno pepper. Seriously, you can see some of those peppers sliced on top of the dish. I started chewing on a pepper and my mouth started to cool. I was thinking, oh, it’s just a jalapeno.

Posted Image

Shrimp Pad See Ew. It was saucier than any pad see ew I have tasted. It was also probably the best version of this dish I have had.

Posted Image

As we were sitting there eating, there were all of these mangos lined up along the counter. We kept eying them through dinner know, that at some point we were going to get the sticky rice and mango. Sticky rice was covered in this coconut cream or coconut and condensed milk. The mango was super ripe and perfect. It was a much needed cooling off. This was also the best mango and sticky rice I have eaten.

All in all, it was a wonderful meal. I will not wait so long to return.

Posted Image

